My Music Memories

Music. Memories. Inspiration. Cat Stevens’ “Moonshadow” plays on a CD that my father had made for me many years ago, I close my eyes, sing along, and I am transported back in time 30 years to my childhood with such comforting, sweet memories of my mother. I cherish these CD’s that he has so carefully created for me, some titled “Sue’s Songs” or “Secret Garden” or even “Quiet Time.” Each with the date it was created along with a list of song titles and the artist(s). When we first moved, or I should say, drove down to North Carolina, he created 5 CD’s for us each with it’s own genre, for example, one was titled “Over the Bridge” for us to listen to while leaving Cape Cod and traveling over the Sagamore Bridge on the first leg of our journey to a new place, a new beginning. Another titled “Traveling Songs” which was comprised of lots of Stixx, Journey, and Billy Joel. He is a brilliant “Music Man. My father knows music so well and researches new groups and knows exactly what type of songs I, and my whole family will enjoy listening to. He says to me “Give this one a chance, you’ll love it!” More times than not, I do! I love seeing or listening to his love and appreciation for music and it shows through in each and every CD he creates for me, for all of us. Don’t get me wrong, I love Pandora or my itunes music but there is something so personal and nostalgic about popping in a CD and pressing shuffle repeat and listening to the same CD for days on end.

photo 2(18)

“Soul Man” by the Blues Brothers or Paul Simon’s “Late in the Evening” are 2 songs that get me up and out of my seat and dance like no-one is watching. That’s me. I love to dance. I really believe that growing up in such a musical, creative family, I appreciate music and the arts and what they do for the soul. “Come Sail Away” by Stixx brings me back to my youth and our family trips to the Museum of Science in Boston. As a child visiting the planetarium during the “Laser Light Show,” this song would start playing, I would close my eyes, and when I opened them I would be transported to another world, another time, another reality. Perfect. I can remember the way I felt, the lasers flashed past us and the song would be perfectly synced to the lasers’ motions and stars blinking! Wow what a great memory!

Music was such a huge part of my childhood and I appreciate it more now. I grew up with music always playing on my parents’ stereo and even now, when I visit our childhood home the Bose would be on playing such sentimental music or something instrumental on the classical station. One of the first things I do in the morning at home is turn on some sort of music, either a CD that my father had made for me or I turn on the radio. Our house is rarely silent. It’s not loud just always a “buzz” of something playing. I have an appreciation for all types of music and our sons do as well. I am thrilled they both have their own “taste” in music. My oldest, “Teenager Michael” has grown to love Skrillex and Deadmau5, along with old Rock and Roll, Jazz and Classical. Actually, he loves all kinds! My Tween “The Zach Man” on the other hand loves POP music, Old Neil Diamond, (well all Neil Diamond is old now isn’t it?) Rock and Roll, Classical, and most new songs that are playing on the radio and what’s popular. When the boys were a lot younger, we would play classical music during dinnertime and I would announce, “What do you hear?” and as quick as they could open their mouths, they would both search for each individual instrument and proudly yell it out. That was a wonderful time. We still do a version of that now. During dinner, I will play almost anything, usually something instrumental or ”Jazzy” and we would have the same love and appreciation for what was playing.

Music tells a story, sometimes the story of our lives and giving children the opportunity to have a love and appreciation for music is a gift for them and you. Don’t always keep a quiet house. During homework time, play classical or quiet music, they will love it and concentrate better. While the house is being cleaned, or while they are cleaning, play something uplifting or fun, motivational, and during dinnertime play classical or easy listening. You don’t have to constantly push music on them but I will say that our boys are well-rounded young men and that makes us very happy. My childhood was wonderful and I thank both of my parents for instilling such an amazing set of values that we are passing on to our children.

By: Susan Grady

 

 

 

Preferences
Preferences
Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
Return
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
English
alt
alt
Preferences

Leave a comment